The Chicken and The Freak Out

16 Aug

Sunday dinner at our house has kind of become a “thing”. I don’t cook very much during the week, thanks to a husband who does it, so Sunday is my day to show off my new skills. After a few successful weeks of dinners, I decided to venture out of my comfort zone and make a whole chicken. “Big deal”, says the experienced cooks. Well, it is a huge deal for me. Besides attempting to make something that still resembles its former life (anything with a face or full skeletal frame normally terrifies me) I’m also a bit of a hypochondriac when it comes to food borne illnesses. After a horrible tango with E. Coli from In & Out burger a few years ago, I tread lightly around beef and poultry. It wasn’t my first time cooking chicken, but it was a first for the size, 7 lbs. I followed the instructions to the letter even letting it cook a little longer. After making sure the thermometer read 170 degrees I decided it must be done and we started eating. After we finished dinner I heard a call from the kitchen, “um, some of this chicken isn’t exactly done, should I toss it? I mean, don’t freak out, you’re fine, but maybe we should throw this guy away. Don’t freak out.” Shivers down my spine. I went in to check the carnage. Big mistake. Pinkish colored meat was looking back at me. PINK! I spent the rest of the night waiting for the food poisoning to begin but it never did. The moral of this story is, check every inch of the bad boy with a meat thermometer just to be sure or better yet, maybe let someone else make the chicken.

One Response to “The Chicken and The Freak Out”

  1. mike and kelly August 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Dear Poor Girl,
    Possibly your oven needs to be checked. If you cooked it for as long as it said, and even longer, maybe your oven is cooking evenly. Also, be sure to check the temperature in a couple of places and be sure it’s not touching the bone. When you take it out if juices run clear, the wings and the legs can easily be removed from the body, it’s done, if not cook longer!!! Also, if you stuffed it, cooking time is increased. Don’t give up, Rome wasn’t built in a day and the perfect roasted chicken takes a little effort too!!!

Leave a Reply

